Board of Director Member

Title:Past President
Name:Hans Lawaetz
Address:Annaly Farms
P.O. Box 366
Frederiksted, St. Croix 00841 USVI
Term Expiration:
      Hans Lawaetz was born on St. Croix, US Virgin Islands on a cattle ranch/sugar cane plantation. He graduated from Cornell University with a BS degree in Animal Husbandry and worked on cattle ranches in Kansas, Colorado and Florida during his college summer vacations.

In the Flint Hills of Kansas he worked with a 25 % Indian cowboy managing herds of Herford cows being bred to 75% & one full blood Charolais bulls.

In the White River Valley of Colorado he worked on a Hereford ranch doing a lot of baling hay and checking steers trucked in from Arizona to graze on Federal land in the mountains.

The summer of 1957 he worked on a ranch in central Florida grazing 1,200 steers weighing 400 to 1200 lbs. on fertilzed pastures.

After five years in the U.S. Air Force as an officer he returned to St. Croix in 1964, at 28 years of age, as a partner and General Manage of Annaly Farms (WC brand) which consisted of 1,500 head of cattle & 200 acres of sugar cane. Annaly Farms purchased from Mr. Bromley Nelthropp in 1949 the nucleus of his herd of cattle and started recording genetic information. In 1954 Annaly Farms trade marked in the United States & Puerto Rico the name Senepol Cattle.

In 1965 Hans started taking weights on the 500 +/- calves each year and began submitting the weights to the Virginia Beef Cattle Improvement Association (BCIA) Computer Programs system for weaning & yearling ratios in the mid 1970s. These weights and similar information from the other 3 St. Croix breeders formed the foundation of information for the SCBA present day EPDs Data Base.

In 1974 Hans added a new business named Annaly Farms Inc. and built the Annaly Farms Meat Market which still operates today selling retail & wholesale Senepol beef (when available) and other refrigerated meats.

In 1977 the four St. Croix Senepol cattle breeders formed the first Senepol Association with Hans as the Chairman and he has continued to serve on the board of directors for the past 35 years.


Return to list of Board of Directors